Happy Birthday!

Mom and Dad went out last night. It’s the first time I can remember that they’ve done that. I guess it must have been a special occasion.

It certainly was for me.

It was also an enlightening time for me. See, I’m homeschooled. Have been all my life, at least as far back as I can remember. School isn’t just a four- or five-hour-a-day thing, either. My lessons last all day. I always figured it was because they want me to be super smart.

I suppose they’d say, now, that I’m too smart for my own good. Certainly for their good.

Because when they left last night, they forgot to hand me the six o’clock assignment sheets. I always get an assignment sheet at six. So, since they forgot, I went into their room to get my papers.

Mom’s desk is an old roll-top. Usually, it’s closed and locked. But last night it was wide open. I could see the blue-green paper that she uses for my lists right on top. So I strolled over and picked it up.

That would have been it, except I saw a picture of me just underneath the page I picked up. Only thing was, the picture was of me when I was younger, about eight or so, and it had been computerized or something because it looked weird. Me, but not quite me, if you get what I’m saying.

So I started looking at more of her papers. There were more pictures of me. Lots of them. From about toddler size to now. But none of them were pictures Mom and Dad had taken. They were all the same odd kinds of computer-generated pictures.

Mixed in with all that were pages and pages of birth certificates, social security cards, passports, all with parts of my information or picture. Some of them were obvious forgeries, but some looked totally real.

What I didn’t see on the desk was anything of Mom’s. Nothing of Dad’s, either. That made me a little uneasy. I was worried about what it meant, so I checked the dresser and their closet. About half of their clothes were gone. But they’d been cleaning out and donating for a couple of weeks, so missing clothes didn’t mean much to me. Most of their stuff was still in the bathroom, so I figured I’d just ask what was going on when they got home.

I fell asleep last night, before they got home. If they got home.

I don’t know, because they’re not here today. I’m a little concerned because the water and electric didn’t work this morning when I got up. Thank goodness the phone on the wall still works. If my parents don’t come home soon, I might have to call the police. If I can figure out the phone.

Happy 18th birthday to me.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

